Book review: I Yam a Donkey! 4 out of 5 stars #bookaday

I yam a donkey book coverStory, pictures, and bad grammar by Cece Bell
Picture book
Interest level: grades 1-4
Reading level: 1.6
4 out of 5 stars


I have to admit that I was a little unsure about this book at the start. As an adult, I understood the back-and-forth banter about bad grammar, but thought it might be over the heads of the intended audience. However, the more I read, the more the story made sense and by the end I was thoroughly enjoying myself.

This book would make a really fun read-aloud (especially if you are good at voices) and would be a good way to intro a lesson on subject/verb agreement and proper forms of “to be.” The illustrations are colorful, simple, and engaging, and the ending is a bit of a surprise. There’s even a bonus moral to the story!

As an aside…it cracks me up that in a book featuring bad grammar, Cece Bell used the Oxford comma on the front cover author statement…long live the Oxford comma!

Leave a Reply

