Book review: What pet should I get? 2 out of 5 stars #bookaday

What pet should I get? book coverby Dr. Seuss
Picture book
Interest level: Pre-K through grade 2
Reading level: 1.5
2 out of 5 stars


I purchased this book based on the hype surrounding the publication of a lost Dr. Seuss manuscript, but after reading it, I truly believe that this story was not one that Theodor Geisel meant to publish. There were many places where the rhymes seemed forced and didn’t work well, and while reading it aloud, I had trouble with the rhythm in spots. I do like the ending of the story and can see this spurring writing or discussion activities in a classroom.

I do feel that this book makes for an interesting study in how Geisel worked and the process he went through in creating books. The best part of the book is the Notes from the Publisher in the back. These are wonderful and insightful. A lesson in a children’s literature class could have students read the publisher notes and then analyze and compare What Pet Should I Get? with One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.

Overall, young children might enjoy the story, but this is not one of Geisel’s best works.

Leave a Reply

