Ballet Cat: Dance! Dance! Underpants!

Dance! Dance! Underpants! book cover

Bob Shea has created a wonderful series that focuses on Ballet Cat and some of her friends. This friendship story will cause lots of laughs, because …. underpants!

Dance! Dance! Underpants!
by Bob Shea
Disney/Hyperion, 2016
ISBN978-1-4847-1379-2
Beginning reader, picture book, fiction
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 cm
Interest Level: K-3; Reading Level: 1.7
4 out of 5 stars


Ballet Cat is practicing ballet with Butter Bear, who is fine with toe pointing, but very reluctant to practicing super-high leaps. In fact, Butter Bear comes up with every excuse she can think of not to practice high-leaps, until Ballet Cat gets fed up and demands to know what is going on. Is Butter Bear scared? Afraid to fail?

Young readers will delight to find out that the problem involves underpants! The ending of the story is silly and fun. This would make a great read-aloud to kindergarten or first graders.

Shea has also included one of the best jokes for any adults who may be reading this to a child. The book is dedicated “For Steph, who may or may not have written the funniest joke in the whole story.” I believe the answer lies here:
Untitled
Ballet Cat: Dance! Dance! Underpants! is the second book in the series by Shea. Fans of Elephant & Piggie will also enjoy these books of friendship and fun. These books will highly motivate beginning readers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s