We Are Growing!

We Are Growing! book cover

Fans of Elephant & Piggie will love to watch the grass grow in this Geisel award winner!

Beginning reader, fiction
Interest Level: K-3; Reading Level: 1.1
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, 2017
4 out of 5 stars


We Are Growing is one of the first books to be published in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading series. Elephant & Piggie make an appearance and provide an introduction and closing for the book, which will delight their young reading fans.

Watching the grass grow has never been as fun or interesting! As each blade of grass begins to grow, they discover that they are all different and have different strengths. Some are curliest or crunchiest…except for one who isn’t sure what he is the most at. His friends try to help him, and in the end he discovers his strength.

This book is excellent for beginning readers. It features a controlled vocabulary and fun story that will keep children interested. It also features the superlative form of words, so this could be a companion book to a grammar lesson.

Fans of Elephant & Piggie will enjoy this book. Don’t forget to look for the hidden Pigeons!


We Are Growing
by Laurie Keller
Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2016
ISBN 978-1-48472-635-8

View all my reviews on GoodReads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s