We Are Growing!

Fans of Elephant & Piggie will love to watch the grass grow in this Geisel award winner!

Beginning reader, fiction
Interest Level: K-3; Reading Level: 1.1
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, 2017
4 out of 5 stars


We Are Growing is one of the first books to be published in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading series. Elephant & Piggie make an appearance and provide an introduction and closing for the book, which will delight their young reading fans.

Watching the grass grow has never been as fun or interesting! As each blade of grass begins to grow, they discover that they are all different and have different strengths. Some are curliest or crunchiest…except for one who isn’t sure what he is the most at. His friends try to help him, and in the end he discovers his strength.

This book is excellent for beginning readers. It features a controlled vocabulary and fun story that will keep children interested. It also features the superlative form of words, so this could be a companion book to a grammar lesson.

Fans of Elephant & Piggie will enjoy this book. Don’t forget to look for the hidden Pigeons!


We Are Growing
by Laurie Keller
Hyperion Books for Children, an imprint of Disney Book Group, 2016
ISBN 978-1-48472-635-8

View all my reviews on GoodReads

A Pig, a Fox, and a Box

This is a humorous book for beginning independent readers.

A Pig, a Fox, and a Box
by Jonathan Fenske
Penguin Young Readers, 2015
ISBN 978-0-448-48511-9
Beginning reader, humorous
30 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm.
Interest Level: K-3; Reading Lvl: 1.1
Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor, 2016
5 out of 5 stars


This book features two friends, Fox and Pig. The story is divided into three independent parts, that build on each other. Each part begins with the same repetition:

I am Fox.
I am Pig.
I am little.
I am big.

At this point the reader discovers that Fox likes to play tricks on Pig. But much like Wile E. Coyote and the Road Runner, things don’t turn out well for poor Fox.

Children will love the humor and recognize the irony of Fox always getting injured by his pranks. They will especially enjoy his growing collections of bandages and scrapes as they go to each subsequent part.
Untitled
The simple, repetitive language is used in a rhyme scheme that makes the story delightful to read. I especially like the humor and storyline that does not try to condescend to young beginning readers.

Fans of Elephant & Piggie, or who enjoy funny stories will enjoy A Pig, a Fox, and a Box.